Intergovernmental Relations

The Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 establishes several intergovernmental structures, which serve to facilitate greater intergovernmental cooperation and consultation under the devolved government model. The national government and county governments will use these structures to agree on crosscutting policies, legislation and other important issues that affect you both nationally and locally. Furthermore, these structures will help prevent or resolve intergovernmental disputes.

National and County Government Coordinating Summit

Clause 7 of The Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 establishes the National County Government Coordinating Summit.The highest intergovernmental body, the Coordinating Summit ensures that relations between the national and county governments are effective and consultative. It consists of the President (or Deputy President in his/her absence) who serves as the chairperson, all governors of the 47 counties, and the chairperson of the Council of County Governors who serves as the Summit's vice chairperson.

Functions of the Coordinating Summit

The Coordinating Summit must convene at least twice a year and submits an annual report to Parliament and the county assemblies within three months after the end of every financial year. Other functions of the Summit are outlined in Clause 8 of The Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012. They are as follows:

  • consultation and co-operation between the National and County governments;
  • promotion of national cohesion, values, and principles of governance;
  • consideration and promotion of national interest matters and reports on national interest by other intergovernmental bodies and forums;
  • monitoring national and county development plan implementation;
  • considering intergovernmental issues referred to the summit by the public and recommending action;
  •  evaluating national or county government performance and recommending appropriate action;
  • county and national governments development plan implementation; and
  • facilitating and coordinating the transfer of functions, power or competencies from and to either level of government.

Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee

Clause 11 of The Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 establishes the Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee, which is comprised of a chairperson and not more than eight members appointed by the Coordinating Summit. The Technical Committee is responsible for the Summit's day-to-day operations, including facilitating its activities and implementing its decisions. The Committee is also responsible for submitting quarterly reports to the Coordinating Summit and may establish working groups to assist in carrying out its functions.

The Technical Committee also acts as the National and County Government Coordinating Summit Secretariat. The Technical Committee is responsible for appointing a secretary to serve as the secretariat’s chief executive and financial officer. The Secretary is also responsible for the day-to-day administration and affairs of the secretariat as well as the implementation of decisions made by the Coordinating Summit and its Technical Committee. The figure below illustrates the structure of the Coordinating Summit.